Did s/he REALLY just say that?   Leave a comment

         Today, while scrolling through my newsfeed on Facebook, I came across a status from one of my many friends, Michael Henderson (have to give him credit for this one even though this was one of my own statuses months ago about another word and/or abbreviation that drives me bonkers), about people giving condolences to someone who has lost a loved one. 

            “I’m sorry for your loss” is the proper way to say it but what do we hear all the time?  “I’m sorry for your lost”.  Um, okay. 

            So this brought out an entire discussion, on this particular thread, about all of the incorrect usages of certain words that we see flying across our newsfeeds on Facebook or any other social networking site.  Mine garnered just as many disgruntled people as his did.  I chose the abbreviation for et cetera, etc.  I see “ect” all the time on my newsfeed and it drives me nuts.  The funny thing is that one of the ladies that responded to my little rant darn near had a coronary because she said “why did I just see this come across my feed?!”  She couldn’t help but laugh because it’s true.

            Don’t get me wrong, I love my people (all colors I might add), but this hideous term “ebonics” is in fact, not a language.  What it is, is a massacring of the English language and quite frankly I find it disheartening that it is sweeping across the nation to the point that people can’t even write complete, legible sentences or speak the same way, without sounding like idiots.  No wonder schools are now stressing writing as part of the curriculum!  It’s needed in the worst way.  You know it’s become absolutely crucial when you have to write a term paper…in math. 

            I stress to my own children the importance of speaking proper English, at all times because you want to be understood.  No one wants to suffer through an entire conversation with half sentences, the improper use of words and that god awful “you know what I’m sayin’” every other sentence. 

            I was watching something on television with this couple and she was hugged up on this guy who was talking to someone.  I swear every other sentence out of his mouth was “you know what I’m sayin’?” and I am looking at her thinking to myself ‘you’re a beautiful young woman, why are you with this idiot?’ because she could have done so much better than him.  I couldn’t do anything but shake my head and cringe.

            I do a lot of cringing when I watch and listen to people.  We, as a species, are amazing.  I wonder if other animals look at us and think that we are the weird ones.

            Any way, I have seen the misuse of their, there and they’re (they are); these, those and them; lost for loss; ect for etc.; and I’ve heard the pronunciation of “light skinned” as “light-skinned-ed”.  Street pronounced skreet; screen as streen and a whole host of other mispronounced words that would boggle any English teachers mind and wonder “where did I go wrong?”

            Far be it from me to act as though I’m perfect when it comes to speaking the English language but I can say, and rightfully so, that I do have a grasp and a command over it that when I speak, I use the proper conjugation of verbs and I pronounce everything correctly and if I can’t, I sound it out.  It’s not beneath me to sound intelligent than like an idiot.

Posted January 6, 2012 by doublee42 in Things I see

Leave a Reply

